An Open Letter to Chichiwe: Year 2

Kære Daddy Deng,

Today”s Father’s Day here in Denmark, and in the Philippines, you’ll be celebrating it on the 3rd Sunday of June. So, I wanted to greet you a Happy, Happy Father’s Day. Hurrah! Hurrah! And a looooong… Hurraaaaah! Hihi. A lot of things happened after my last open letter to you and until this letter. Things changed, and most I believe, for the better. But, if there’s one thing that’s constant, it’s that I still think that you’re the best dad in the world. 🙂

I have a better relationship with God now… more intimate, more personal. Thank you for always reminding me to read my Bible and say my prayers. If I’m not mistaken, you’ve read the whole Bible twice. I could remember those afternoons I would see you sitting on a chair with your glasses on and reading the big Bible we have. And just saying, I am really fascinated with that Bible, with all the colorful photographs.Thank you for always reminding me to trust God in everything I do and to thank Him always. Of course you know I’m part of the worship team now at the Baptist Church. Do you remember I asked you, after reading the lifestory of St. Therese of Lisieux, what do you think about me entering the convent. You were somehow taken aback and you told me to focus on my bachelor first and we could discuss it after I graduate. Now, I have graduated and I got my degree, but I don’t think I’m going to enter a convent now and became a nun. I’ll do something else to serve God. I don’t think the convent or cloister is the place where God wants me to be. But, if you look back, a lot of people assumed that I would become a nun someday because I used to spend a lot of time in our church actively participating in almost all of the activities. Thanks for supporting me and allowing me to be an active member in our church. Do you remember there was a moment in our lives when it was just you and me who goes to church together? I guess that was the time that Mommy was still fuming mad and disappointed with me. But you, you were really just like the father of the prodigal son, you just showed me love and never said any resentful word towards me. And no, I don’t take that sad moments against mom, she has all the right to be angry and disappointed anyway. But, once again, thank you for your forgiveness. Just thinking about how things have been, I’d say, I see a trait of our Heavenly Father in you. Isn’t that wonderful? This makes me very excited to meet and greet our Heavenly Father.

I felt guilty that I am on my second open Father’s Day letter to you, but I didn’t do this with mom. But, later on I realized, it’s probably because whenever I call the two of you, it’s always mom who speaks a lot with me. I have most conversations with her. You, you would just be glad to hear my voice; ask how I’m doing; make a small talk; tell me to take care, don’t forget to go to church, and put God in everything I do; and then you’d tell me, here’s mom, she has a lot to tell you; and of course, you always say that you love me and I love you a lot, too. I think I got my listening skill from you and my talking abilities from Mommy. Hihi.

And after 48 years and a thousand moons, I fell in love again, still am. But, this time, I was able to tell you about it. Well, not all the details. But, at least, I was able to open this on my own; to tell you that I found someone. And I am very determined to let you know about it, that I finally found someone I could introduce to you and our family. I really hope that you could meet him someday.  You’ll enjoy his company. I believe that you guys would understand each other; that you could have amazing conversations together. And oh, I’m not sure if Achie Joy showed you his picture, but according to Joana, Carol and Flor, he looks a lot like you. Especially when he smiles and/or frown his forehead. Haha. Daddy Deng, you’re little girl is growing up na and turning into what I hope to be a fine lady. But, nah, I guess I’ll probably turn into a warrior princess. Hahaha! There’s so much about him that I could tell you but I’m gonna stop because there is the possibility that he would read this and keda pa grande disuyo cabeza kay all praises yo. Hehehe. Di ko naman balak na ipaalam sa kanya ano ang blog ko, gusto ko lang ipakita yung layout. Aba nung bumalik sa kinauupuan niya eh ni-scan agad-agad at keen observer nga yata talaga, nahanap niya agad yung pangalan ni Darwish at yung joke ko tungkol kay Hamed.Hoy, ikaw, pag nabasa mo ‘to, bakit yung pangalan ni Darwish di mo nakakalimutan, pero yung pangalan ng isla namin, isang century pa yata bago mo maalala? At eto pa, Deng, kinabukasan, bukas pa rin yung site ko sa computer niya. Kalurkey!!! And oh, just to make things clear Deng, he’s not my boyfriend, I just love him like he’s the one. Hihihi. Ayaw sa akin nung tao eh, anong magagawa natin diba? Di naman pwedeng pilitin diba? Sabi nga, ang hinog sa pilit, mapait. But, if you knew how things have been better and how happy I’ve been since I met him, you would be glad I did. So, fighting lang nuh maskin pa iyo lang el ta ama conele.

It’s quite sad though that I might not be able to go home for a vacation this December. Well, you know, I’m going to a Bible school and I have to pay my fees. So, the money intended for my trip, I’ll use to pay for my dues in school. But, we’ll see what God’s plan is. His plan is always better than my plan anyway. So, I’ll just trust in God’s plan and let Him lead me through it. Who knows, He just might bring you and mom here. Oh diba bongga? He’s really been doing amazing things in my life lately; making His presence felt. It’s just awesome!

So, stay safe and healthy, ne, Chichiwe… I still wanna see you and mom celebrate your golden wedding anniversary, and that would be in 3 years. When I get married, I want to celebrate my golden or diamond wedding anniversary, too. Do you know who I wanna get married to, Deng? Este kita ta habla, kailangan pa bang i-memorize yan? Sabe ya si quien Deng nuh? Hihihi. But, he always push me to some other guy, always telling me that I could fall in love another person. Pasaway! Well, okay, fine, whatever. But, yeah, if I’m gonna get married, I, in cooperation with my husband, will work out to make it lasts our lifetime and eternity. People would probably react with “Big words”. Kebz.

I miss you a lot, Deng. The last time I dreamt of you, I woke up and found myself in tears. I was crying in my dreams. I got worried but I know you’re fine. It turned out that Francoise, his goldfish, died. We really have to do Skype often. I have to talk to Achie about this. It would be nice if you could have internet connection at home, but, the way things are happening there in the isla, it’s not really worth it. So, I’ll figure this out with Achie.

There are more things I wanna tell you, but I believe it’s better if I just say it to you personally. I just wanna show the world how proud I am to be your daughter with this open letter. You are the best dad in the world and I can’t thank God enough for blessing me with your love and life. Thanks for letting this little girl become your world at some point in your life. Yo te amo mucho Daddy Deng. Besos y abrazos.

Med kærlig hilsen,
Vess 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment